Poetics Prompt- Wild Poem – “Kali”

20111126-062039.jpg

I’ve posted this for DVerse Poets Pub “poetics” prompt “wild” and Gooseberry Garden’s poetry picnic.  It’s an older poem about the Indian Goddess, Kali.  Kali is a  Goddess of Destruction, often depicted in a fairly violent, i.e. wild form,  but it is my understanding that this destructive force is also an energy that can be channeled in a protective manner–against obstacles!  Blocks!   Enemies!  (She seems to me to be kind of like a life coach mother bear.)  At any rate, here’s my effort and a new iPad drawing above.

Kali

Dear Kali, you are my favorite goddess.
It is your krazy hair,
and all those men that you wear
at your waist.
It is the way that you waste
them with your big mouth,
that you break them in two with your teeth, 
that you bear down hard.

Dear Kali, you are my favorite goddess.
It is the way that you slit,
the way that you split,
the way that you pit
them against each other, heads against heads,
and that sharp spear that you hold
in your hand.

Dear Kali, you are my favorite goddess.
Make me your third eye.
Make me the clasp at your waist.
Give me the weight of fifty men, the hook of the chain.
Dear Kali, you are my favorite.

(PS the poem is in a collection of my work GOING ON SOMEWHERE available on Amazon.)

(PPS – I’m so sorry that I’ve not been in a good position to return comments the last few days.  Thanks to all who’ve commented.  I will get back to your work.)

Explore posts in the same categories: iPad art, poetry, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

26 Comments on “Poetics Prompt- Wild Poem – “Kali””

  1. brian miller Says:

    make me your third eye…nice line…and interesting choice of favorite…um remind me not to get on your bad side…smiles.

  2. brian miller Says:

    did not know you had a collection on amazon…off to see…


  3. interesting information, bravo,
    Thanks for sharing.


  4. If you can befriend Kali you’re doing good! Your drawing is pretty cool. it’s got a strong structure and yet it has nice movement too.

    • manicddaily Says:

      Thanks. I do a lot of drawing on the iPad 2. I miss watercolors, but I don’t always have materials with me, while I can stick the iPad in my purse.

  5. Mary Says:

    interesting poem here. Never heard of the goddess Kali, but I do know a little girl with that name.

  6. Heaven Says:

    nice drawing and poem tribute to your goddess… i like these lines:

    Dear Kali, you are my favorite goddess.
    Make me your third eye.
    Make me the clasp at your waist.
    Give me the weight of fifty men, the hook of the chain.


  7. Mm, I too like the “make me the clasp at your waist” and the slit-split-pit sequence and its unexpected culmination.


  8. Very cool drawing and poem!

  9. claudia Says:

    think you made a very good point that destructive force is also an energy that can be channeled in a protective manner…from this angle, your poem makes all the more sense..

    • manicddaily Says:

      Thanks–Ha. I’m not sure that it’s a poem that makes that much sense; though I think it is mainly about wanting that kind of forceful energy. K.

  10. David King Says:

    This is a fine write and a fine take on the theme. It ticks all the boxes for me. Are you also responsible for the image?

    • manicddaily Says:

      Thanks. Yes, I make all the images I use unless otherwise posted. (My current header, however–landscape with moon–is by my husband, Jason Martin.)

  11. hedgewitch Says:

    I have to say, any Goddess that wears a necklace of skulls and has nine arms holding sharp blades is okay by me. This is more than fun to read, and a more than clever look at how destruction can be a positive force.

  12. Guilie Says:

    Brilliant! Loved it–the cadence is mesmerizing. There is darkness there but not of a goth kind. It’s more of a… human nature. Loved it. And thanks for the visit to my blog–glad you liked the Bluebell story :)

  13. Mama Zen Says:

    “It is your krazy hair,
    and all those men that you wear
    at your waist.”

    I love that!


  14. Great stuff! (I like Kali too.)

  15. Nicole Says:

    I like your format with this.


  16. great sentiments stated, :)


  17. heading over to Amazon! woohoo! good stuff!

    ♥ Kellie – Follow me on Twitter: @BackyardPonders

    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2011/12/05/on-a-hilltop-in-december

    • manicddaily Says:

      Thanks so much! Will do.

      The book NOSE DIVE, teen novel, is on kindle now for just 99 cents so not a major investment! Take care, k.


  18. sweet expression.

    have fun with everything.

  19. Morning Says:

    perfect and creative.
    :)

    you rock.

  20. becca givens Says:

    Quite creative … I like the imagery both words and drawing … I need some help with my 3rd eye … so I liked Make me your third eye. !!

    Nicely done ~~


  21. words and drawing are both great…not usually a big fan of illustrations with poems (like to “draw “my own conclusions) but these work beautifully together


I'd love to hear from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 942 other followers

