Poetics, Ponge, Sheets,

Brain In Bed

Mark Kerstetter at dVerse Poets Pub has given a prompt based on the wonderful French poet Ponge today and his poetization of objects.   (I urge you to check out the article.)  My brain is a bit fried tonight, which may be what led me to write the poem below.

Sheets

They are wide and flat and blank with the wide
flat blankness of sound sleep,
white noise, the sky
on those heavy days when summer’s head
can barely be lifted, those other days
when winter’s head
is weighted down with snow.

Except when they are not blank (or wide or flat) but
rumpled by the chased dream that moans for surrender,
ruffled by the soar of inner flight,
tangled around the angled limbs of those who are thrust
by their unconscious into a straitjacketed thrash, knotted
and wracked by those who weep, covering their faces.

Hold me tonight, sheets, like an envelope that is
mailed to tomorrow, and let me stretch
out in your cool crannies, those slices
of stillness, where, encompassed nightly
by the repeatedly touched and
untouched, I find place
for every square of my being, even
the enfisted heart.

P.S. for those who have been following this blog–I finished the novel manuscript, at least enough to submit to a silly (unwinnable by me) novel contest.  Still, a lot of revising to be done, but it has a very good story and does hang together more or less.  It is not, however, nearly so finished as NOSE DIVE!  (Check it out!)

 

Explore posts in the same categories: poetry, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

18 Comments on “Poetics, Ponge, Sheets,”

  1. hedgewitch Says:

    Love this, Karin. “Hold me tonight, sheets, like an envelope that is
    mailed to tomorrow…” just exquisite and vivid, not only that particular line which I’m esp partial too, but the whole thing. One of my favorites of yours instantly. (btw–is that a brain tucked between the sheets with its head(?) resting on the pillows, or are my eyes just freaking out?)

  2. brian Says:

    rumpled by the chased dream that moans for surrender….and the straightjacket line…yep that is me tonight…cant sleep….wishing on that last stanza…which is def my fav…the envelope mailed to tomorrow…hot….

  3. David King Says:

    My choice would have been the same as Hedgewitch’s, so I’ll not repeat it. A fine response to the prompt, with absolutely no sign anywhere of fried neurons.

  4. Bianca Says:

    on those heavy days when summer’s head
    can barely be lifted, those other days
    when winter’s head
    is weighted down with snow.

    I could really identify with these words especially in the winter time :) Thanks for sharing :)

  5. Chazzy Chazz Says:

    You have some amazing lines and insights here. I love the way you intertwine passion with anxiety and a bit of tirednesd. The feeling of being enveloped in a world of surrender and dream, which children know so well with their forts, brings lovely memories of grandmother’s crisp white sheets, come to dialog and converse with yours.


  6. Cool how it reads equally well for sheets of paper as for bedsheets!


  7. “rumpled by the chased dream that moans for surrender,
    ruffled by the soar of inner flight” love this. And the rest. great work.

  8. Semaphore Says:

    I like this, read the last stanza aloud because it felt right to be doing so… and it was like easing into comfortable sheets. Nice writing!

    • ManicDdaily Says:

      Thanks so much! Thanks to everyone for their kind comments. I was very pleased as I had spent day revising something else, and happy to do something fresh–like sliding in to fresh sheets. K.


  9. Lots of great phrases and images here – the entire second stanza is wonderful, love the “envelope” and of course the phrase “every square of my being.” Fine work for a fried brain!

  10. Shawna Says:

    You are so good!!! Definitely on my favorites list. :) What you did with the sheets, particularly the repetition, twisted ME up.

    That picture rocks. And these are my favorite parts of the poem:

    “They are wide and flat and blank with the wide
    flat blankness of sound sleep,
    white noise”

    “Except when they are not blank (or wide or flat)”

    “tangled around the angled limbs of those who are thrust
    by their unconscious into a straitjacketed thrash”

    “Hold me tonight, sheets, like an envelope that is
    mailed to tomorrow”

    “I find place
    for every square of my being”

    • ManicDdaily Says:

      Ha, thanks so much, Shawna.

    • ManicDdaily Says:

      PS – I like the picture. I think – I can’t remember exactly–but did the drawing by hand, painted in with iPhone. There are tons of wonderful painting apps on the iPhone and iPad, but my favorite is “Brushes.” (I have iPad now which is much better than iPhone for painting.)

  11. Yousei Hime Says:

    Congrats on finishing the manuscript!

    • ManicDdaily Says:

      Thanks! It is tremendously rough! But it is much better than it was. Thanks for your support! Hope all is well. K.

  12. Gay Says:

    Congratulations on finishing the book. Quite an achievement!!
    I really liked all the lines in this. I took a series of photos once of rumpled sheets to see what patterns might emerge and if it would look like abstract paintings. They just looked like rumpled sheets. This however, is far more. I agree with Joy about the fav. lines. Well done!


I'd love to hear from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 991 other followers

