Friday Flash 55 Back To the Days Before GPS

20120217-092057.jpg


The map was a book. I drove; she navigated, piecing together freeway from one page to the next.

“Should take ya about 35 minutes,” the gas station guy had said.

After two hours, 70 mph, still within LA city limits–“that guy sure has a weird idea of 35 minutes,” I groaned.

“Oops,” she said.

(The above is my offering to the G-Man, Mr. Know-it-all! Have a wonderful weekend, and please please please check out my comic novel NOSE DIVE in paper and on Kindle–for only 99 cents! A great read if you like escape and aren’t completely thrilled with the way you look!)

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized, writing

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Friday Flash 55 Back To the Days Before GPS”

  1. brian miller Says:

    lol…so where did this road trip take you?

  2. G-Man Says:

    Ha! I google Mapquest!!
    I can read a map.
    Most excellent 55 MD
    You Rock!
    Thanks for playing, and have a Kick Ass Week-End

  3. David King Says:

    I don’t believe those days are entirely gone – satnavs or no satnavs!
    I did really appreciate this post. I do believe it’s made my day.

  4. David King Says:

    Have checked out Nose Dive and added it to my list for my next purchases.

  5. dfb Says:

    Believe it or not, I’ve never used it!

  6. hedgewitch Says:

    I have a pre-GPS car also, and I have rudimentary map skills which function in most cases–maps are not exactly arcane–but I do relate well to that sensation of being lost after following local directions–locals always seem to leave out parts you don’t know, because what’s obvious to them is a new discovery to a stranger. Nice geographic 55. (And I think *anyone* could get lost in LA, GPS or no.)

    • ManicDdaily Says:

      Ha. Well, this was years ago. I haven’t been to LA for a long time, but I was thinking of it last night as we were en route to a Willie Nelson concert, and one of the songs –One the Road–was on the radio. On the road, indeed. On the Freeway! We did get there in time for much of the concert.

      I think GPS actually a little dangerous–I don’t have it–but in my last experience driving with someone with it, they kept looking at the screen instead of the road! It was a bit scary. K.


I'd love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.