Insect Paparazzi-ing (Amazing sights!)

20120711-121837.jpg

I have been taking pictures of bugs lately.  Yesterday, I posted a very weird picture of a bee (who seemed to stare right into my iPhone camera.)  Here was another unexpected sight.

Explore posts in the same categories: elephants, Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “Insect Paparazzi-ing (Amazing sights!)”

  1. claudia Says:

    haha…i just LOVE that elephant with the butterfly wings..

  2. David King Says:

    You must have a gift for catching such sights – no, a genius!

  3. Pat Hatt Says:

    I’d say the elephant would win, nice shot.

  4. janehewey Says:

    nice eye! butterflies make me giddy. Did you ever see The Last Unicorn, soundtrack by America? anyway, the animated butterfly is crazy cool. He is absolutely ADD, with all due respect, and wears goggles. Now, when I see a butterfly, I imagine the kooky one, instead of the sweet, fairy tale version I used to imagine. I am on the lookout for swallowtails. ~jane

    • ManicDdaily Says:

      Ha. Did not see, but I was thinking about this a lot the other day because of seeing two swirling around each other. It was hard for me to understand what they were up to – not competing for food? Lots of flowers? Courtship? Puppydom? No idea. Thanks. k.

    • ManicDdaily Says:

      PS – not sure about the elephant here – this one is camouflaged a bit in the skin area so better for sneaking up, but afterwards thought perhaps I should use one with a less dappled skin. Agh! Such decisions in elephant land. k.

  5. hedgewitch Says:

    Yes, I was noticing the butterfly riding the elephant–subtle, very subtle. ;_) I love butterflies and many of my planting choices in the garden are made for them–I saw three black swallowtail caterpillars on my fennel plants the other day and can;t wait to see them when they get their wings. They do amazing aerial ballet–why? Just because they can, I suppose. They say horses trained to dressage will do some of the movements and jumps on their own when out in the pasture, presumably just because they are fun. I liked your staring bee–how confrontational!-and his little poem as well.

  6. Lynn Says:

    Lovely tiger swallowtail – great photo!

  7. Becky Says:

    LOVE these pictures… thanks for daring to get so close to that bee. :-)
    I’ve been perusing your blog — very nice!

  8. Becky Says:

    My comment either disappeared into the ether or is in moderation land, if it disappeared, just know I was here!!


  9. I have a yearning to see a flying elephant now.

    That would be nice.

    As this photo is.

  10. Mama Zen Says:

    I wish that I knew how to do that!

    • ManicDdaily Says:

      Ha- it’s all in the Apps. Actually, in my case, I use the Brushes App on the iPad (or iPhone – but mainly iPad). It’s a very great App for drawing, and allows you to bring in photos, and use layers etc. It’s the same one David Hockney uses, which is where I heard about it. I highly recommend -if you have an iPad, the App costs about $5. I find it much easier to learn than some of the others. k.


I'd love to hear from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 943 other followers