Finch

20140607-220605-79565356.jpg

 

Finch

Dear goldfinch.
Dying in the days
of buttercups,
also suncatchers,
fellows yellow;
so inexplicably
ground down.
No bruise, no slash,
no bobbled neck.
But the why was yesterday’s
question.
Today you’ve been spirited
away–some body’s
answer.

I think of your gleam in the air.
Each time you streamed by
it was as if I’d witnessed
letting there
be light–
and you’d replied
to whatever deity was in sight,
catch me if you can. 

 

**********************

Here’s a poem for Grace’s prompt on With Real Toads about writing about nature, thinking of one’s own insides.  Not sure this qualifies.  (I think it fit the prompt better, but I actually have edited since posting to take out the parts about me!  Sorry, Grace!)

 

Also I’ve not read the book The Goldfinch, so this is not meant to refer to that, though I do hope to read it.

 

All rights reserved to both pic/text.

Explore posts in the same categories: poetry, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Finch”


  1. That is sweet. Gently done.

  2. Grace Says:

    I admire the shades of yellow – buttercups, suncatchers, & that response in the end, catch me if you can ~ I would be happy to see their gleam in the air ~

    Thanks for linking up with Real Toads K ~ No worries as the prompt is wide open ~ Happy weekend ~


  3. How sad…I’ve just been admiring the goldfinch this last week…I love your description,

    “letting there
    be light–”

    Perfect…perfect little bird.

    Well done.

  4. Kerry O'Connor Says:

    I hate to see a dead bird – it freezes me to the spot. Yet there is something poetic in the little creatures’ demise, and you have realised that quite perfectly in this piece.

  5. hedgewitch Says:

    There is such infinite pathos about a dead songbird, so absolutely harmless in the world, so giving of beauty and asking so little in return. You capture all that, all the reaction the heart has to such fragility, really well and movingly here, k. (I also love the language–fellows yellow, and so forth–a wonderful savor in itself.) I think there is indeed a part of the heart that is exactly comparable, so I’d say it more than fits the challenge.

    • ManicDdaily Says:

      Hi Joy, lost my own comment (ha!) which is just as well (as it was rambling and only coherent to myself.). Thanks for your kind words and always generous approach to my work . K.

  6. Jinksy Says:

    I once picked up a tiny goldfinch, or gold-crest in my garden that I thought was near dead, but a droplet of water offered from my fingertip seemed to work wonders, and eventually it took flight. Thanks for reminding me.


  7. Oh so sad and poignant, the thought of him so brightly in flight, and then downed, Beautifully done.


  8. The last line is sad. Loved the poem. That last line, combined with the photo, killed me. Thanks.

    Greetings from London.

  9. Susan Says:

    It’s those glass walls and ceilings we smash into before we know they are there. To me it is heart break. Like when I watched my 11th grade curriculum die. The brain still work, but the heart is irrevocably transformed.

  10. ds Says:

    Oh, heartbreaking photo, beautifully evocative poem.Last lines say it all. Thank you.

  11. grapeling Says:

    ‘the why was yesterday’s / question’ is the center of this piece, for me, k ~


I'd love to hear from you!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 954 other followers

