Sonnet in Winter – Hospital Visit

For a change of pace, here’s a sonnet, written about a winter’s visit to a sick friend.

The sonnet follows the Shakespearean rhyme scheme, and though it tries for Iambic Pentameter, I’m not sure that attempt is truly successful.  As noted in previous posts about sonnets and formal poetry, I tend to use a syllabic rule of thumb rather than to follow strict rules of scansion.

For further explanation of the Shakespearean rhyme scheme and some approximation of the rules of meter in formal poetry, check out prior posts re poetic meter, and sonnets, and for reasons to write formal verse .  (And plenty of others – check out poetry category.)

No chance

I wanted to give her time, a summer’s day,
a perfect green blue day that I would pluck
from my summers to come, that I would lay
upon her bed, and, shimmering, tuck
around her.  It should have been an easy offer,
easy to say.  After all, the future
can’t be readily assigned; life’s coffer
holds nothing forfeit.  Tubes followed suture
to a darkness barely gowned; I searched around
my jangling brain for words, but what came out
were stones that lined her pillow, the sound
not meaning my meaning, and not about
summer days; my own fierce will to live
hoarding what I had no power to give.

All rights reserved, Karin Gustafson.

(If interested in different forms of poems–sestinas, pantoums, villanelles, and more villanelles, and even more villanelles–there are a lot of villanelles.   Really.  Check out these links, and others.  Thanks.)

Explore posts in the same categories: poetry, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

13 Comments on “Sonnet in Winter – Hospital Visit”

  1. margaret dessau Says:

    deeply moving

  2. Jingle Says:

    amazing, thanks for sharing…


  3. This is incredible!

  4. luna15 Says:

    wow excellent piece. keep up your fabulous writing!

  5. WyomingDiva Says:

    Wow. This caught me completely off guard. I wrote something recently that had the same tenor – wishing to do something for someone who is terminal or already gone. Very well written.


  6. A wonderful, touching, write! Very well done!

    Three: In Dreams

  7. morning Says:

    beautiful and moving.
    Thanks for sharing.

  8. Ruth Says:

    really well written, & true what you say


I'd love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.